tumblr_inline_olfcscIJ2f1sjdw6u_540.png

My final time getting my photo taken in the Klix studio

 

Time passes so fast, especially when you’re doing something you’re passionate about. Just like that, two years of radio went pass me. It’s only been one week since the end and my heart is already missing it so so much.

I remember the time when I auditioned for Radio Heatwave for the first time. I didn’t know what to do and I was plonked straight on air. They rejected me, but I remember clearly that one of the managers told me to try again next semester as he saw the potential in me and all I needed was more time.

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 12.54.32 am.png

This tweet documented my first interaction with Radio Heatwave (Also, what was with my hair and dressing last time?!?)

 

I applied again the next semester and was rejected once again. This time, I didn’t know why. Despite the fact that I was turned down the first two times I applied, I didn’t give up. I decided to keep trying until I graduate or until I got in.

They say that the third time’s the charm and indeed it is.

 

CEdHeZKWAAE4HS6.jpg

It was one of the best moments of my life when I saw my name on the list

 

When the news broke out that I managed to get in on my third try, I found it hard to contain my joy, which was especially necessary since I was on the train to school and as they say, the rest is history.

 

CI41T0QUkAE0Kua.jpg

The show poster for my very first radio show – Geek Speak

 

Since then, I hosted four shows – Geek Speak, TGIW and The Wake Up Call with Timo. As with every new show, each of them had their own unique challenges, but they always rewarded me with exciting new opportunities.

With the shows came other countless events such as OOOMY, SOS Unplugged and other external events that I was allowed to host. I even became its music manager for six months.

It was two years of blood, sweat, tears, joy, egg mayonnaise sandwiches from Splash ‘N’ Deck, technical faults, breakdowns and NETIA crashing, and it was all worth it.

Sadly, on 8th February 2017, I went on air for one last time to host my very last show. To say that I will miss this dearly with all my heart is understating my love and passion for radio, DJing, hosting and above all, the family at Radio Heatwave. I would do this again in a heartbeat.

So, for the very last time – you’re listening to the hottest thing on campus, Radio Heatwave.

:’) I am gonna miss you.

Leave a Reply

