Today, my calendar sent me a notification which sent me spiralling down memory lane.

It was not so long ago when we planned this and started counting down the days and I still remember it was 29 days and counting. Now, it’s only 2 days away.

Slowly, but surely, you’re fading away. My heart still feels sad, but at least now I know what true happiness feels like.

In the past, I was just a guy who was dead on the inside, allowing my own insecurities to overwhelm my entire existence. But, even in the death of the relationship, your legacy leaves on.

The light of hope may have died, but the whispers of your message still resonate strongly and echoes deep within my existence.

You knew what you wanted for yourself, and I respect you for that. Not many people know what they want, including me.

Maybe you’re right.

Maybe I did inspire you to be like me, a young passionate person who has the entire world in his hand and is working hard to make his dream into reality.

Except that he is currently living the dream that others do desire, but is too foolish to appreciate and understand what’s in front of him.

Till this day, I still wonder what would have happened if it were to work out.

We might be attracted by our very own similarities, but what would have destroyed us is our differences, and to save us trouble, we should just stop.

I know deep down that one day, I will forget this, that eventually you will be out of my life, and I would just remember you as the one whom I let go.

We are so similar that it is uncanny, but the difference is what separate us. We are the same, but because we are from different planets, it might just never work out.

Well, if by any chance you’re reading this, I thank you so much for giving me a chance, and I do hope one day that our paths may cross once again.

But then again, the future is for anyone to guess. But I really hope that meeting you is something possible in the future.

But for now, it’s time for me to get back on my feet and continue the journey to find out who I really am.

Till then, all the best for your future endeavours and cheerio, good friend :’).

*cues “Death of A Cyborg” by Power Glove from the Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon Soundtrack and walks out*

Note: The image is better seen on a mobile device, I do apologise.

Leave a Reply

